The XFL Houston staff formally appoints June Jones as head coach and common supervisor

HOUSTON, Texas (KTRK) – With the XFL resuming in less than a year, Houston’s franchise in the reborn league officially announced June Jones as head coach and general manager.

Dressed in a lei and Hawaiian shirt as a nod to his time at the University of Hawaii, Jones was featured during a press conference Monday at TDECU Stadium, which will host 2020 XFL games.


FULL VIDEO: June Jones is introduced as XFL Houston Head Coach and GM

Jones jumps to the XFL from the Canadian Football League, where he ran the Hamilton Tiger-Cats for the past two seasons. His coaching résumé also includes positions at SMU and the Falcons and Chargers of the NFL.

From 1987 to 1988 he was also quarterbacks coach for the Houston Oilers and 1984 wide receivers coach for the Houston Gamblers of the USFL.

In December, Houston was one of eight cities to announce they would anchor XFL franchises. The other teams are located in Dallas, Los Angeles, New York, St. Louis, Seattle, Tampa Bay, and Washington.

Like its first version 20 years ago, the XFL belongs to WWE Chairman Vince McMahon. The sports entertainment promoter has hired former Houston Oilers quarterback Oliver Luck as commissioner for the 2020 version of the league. Luck was there on Monday to introduce Jones.
Earlier this month, the league announced Brian Michael Cooper as President of XFL Houston. Previously, he was president of the Rio Grande Valley Vipers, the G League subsidiary of the Houston Rockets.
Other franchises in the league have already announced former NFL and prominent college coaches as their main game callers.

For example, former Oklahoma Sooners head coach Bob Stoops was hired to coach the Dallas team.

Also, since Houston received a franchise nearly six months ago, the XFL has made arrangements to broadcast games on ABC, Fox, ESPN, and FS1. From Saturday, February 8th, there will be 10 game weeks.

The league’s championship game will take place on Sunday, 26.

Follow the Eyewitness Sports team on Facebook:

  • Sporting Director Greg Bailey
  • Anchor / reporter Bob Slovak
  • Moderator / reporter David Nuno

Copyright © 2021 KTRK-TV. All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.